On the Road: Building on the Legacy

Image

For those of you who are parents and grandparents, you know the beauty of history—seeing the call of God passed down from generation to generation. Recently, Linda and I were blessed to spend our vacation with 7 of our 10 grandchildren pictured above— Stella & Liza Wellborn, Ellie, Aubrey & Sydney Marcelo and Simon & Isaac Wellborn. We were able to visit Westview Assembly of God in Opp, Alabama. It’s where my dad pastored and the town in which I grew up.

Even in those early years as my parents pastored, then later as appointed AG U.S. missionaries to Bethel, Alaska, I see how God was shaping the call He placed on my life. That followed me through my college years at Southeastern, where I met Linda.

For Linda and me, it’s been a privilege to see that legacy unfold in the lives of our three children, and countless “adopted” children that I have had the privilege of leading on their first and subsequent overseas missions experiences.

We are so thankful to have a part in sharing this legacy of reaching the world with Jesus’ love with these little ones who are very close to our hearts as well as the heart of God.

On June 12, just a little over a week and a half, I will have another opportunity to connect students with the legacy of missions on an AIM/Fine Arts trip to Vienna, Austria. We will be coming alongside missionaries Larry and Melinda Henderson and Tony and Anna Gryskiewicz of the Vienna International Church to equip students to utilize the arts to reach their communities.

It is a privilege to be able to help support and encourage these young lives as they pursue the calling that God has on their life to reach this lost world for Him!

I want to take this time to express gratitude to you our faithful supporters. Without your prayers and giving, throughout this journey, these moments would not have been possible. Thank you for partnering with us to pass this legacy to the generations to come!

For More Information of AIM/FA Austria Trip visit http://aim.ag.org/nat-trips.cfm?targetBay=80d53e27-a1d5-4ffe-a98e-620eeaf24fe3&ModID=2&Process=DisplayArticle&RSS_RSSContentID=27549&RSS_OriginatingChannelID=1201&RSS_OriginatingRSSFeedID=4665&RSS_Source=

To Support Missionaries Jim & Linda Wellborn visit http://worldmissions.ag.org/search.cfm?Display=Yes&churchdetail=AGFM0466

 

Leave a comment